The New York Times

Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowships 20

The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation congratulates the winners of the 2012 Sloan Research Fellowships. These 126 early-career scholars represent the most promising scientific researchers working today. Their achievements and potential place them among the next generation of scientific leaders in the U.S. and Canada. Since 1955, Sloan Research Fellows have gone on to win Nobel Prizes, Fields Medals, National Medals of Science, John Bates Clark Medals, and numerous other distinguished awards.

CHEMISTRY

Theodor Agapie

California Institute of Technology

Louise A. Berben

University of California, Davis

William R. Dichtel

Cornell University

Princeton University

Abigail Doyle

Gregory Engel The University of Chicago

Benjamin A. Garcia

Princeton University Neil K. Garg

University of California, Los Angeles

Nathan C. Gianneschi

University of California, San Diego

Thomas W. Hamann Michigan State University

Seth B. Herzon

Yale University

Munira Khalil University of Washington

Mi Hee Lim

University of Michigan Liviu M. Mirica

Washington University in St. Louis

E. James Petersson

University of Pennsylvania

Scott T. Phillips

The Pennsylvania State University

Sarah Reisman

California Institute of Technology

Jordan Schmidt

University of Wisconsin, Madison M. Scott Shell

University of California, Santa Barbara

Joseph Subotnik

University of Pennsylvania Mark Taylor

University of Toronto

Dunwei Wang

Boston College

Lauren Webb University of Texas, Austin

Bo Zhang

University of Washington

COMPUTER SCIENCE

Eugene Agichtein

Emory University Xi Chen

Columbia University

Alexandra Fedorova Simon Fraser University

John Nathan Foster

Cornell University

Kristen Grauman University of Texas, Austin

Jeffrey Heer

Stanford University

Nicole Immorlica

Northwestern University

Jure Leskovec Stanford University

Wojciech Matusik

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Shwetak N. Patel

University of Washington

Prasad Raghavendra

Sylvia Ratnasamy

University of California, Berkeley

Georgia Institute of Technology

Noah Snavely

Cornell University

Michael Walfish University of Texas, Austin

Andrew K. Warfield University of British Columbia

Junfeng Yang Columbia University

ECONOMICS

Ran Abramitzky

Stanford University

Leah Platt Boustan University of California, Los Angeles

Pascaline Dupas

Stanford University

Virgiliu Midrigan

New York University

Parag Pathak

Massachusetts Institute of Technology Nancy Qian

Yale University

Tomasz Strzalecki

Harvard University

Jonathan Vogel

Columbia University

MATHEMATICS

Anar Akhmedov

University of Minnesota

Margaret Beck

Boston University

Grigoriy Blekherman Georgia Institute of Technology

James Bremer

University of California, Davis

Pierre Germain

New York University Alireza Salehi Golsefidy

University of California, San Diego

Florian Herzig University of Toronto

Vera Mikyoung Hur University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Matthew Kahle

Ohio State University

Joel Kamnitzer

University of Toronto Young-Heon Kim

University of British Columbia

Tong Liu

Purdue University

California Institute of Technology **Benjamin Recht**

University of Wisconsin, Madison

Sebastien Roch

University of California, Los Angeles **Marcus Roper**

University of California, Los Angeles

Karl Schwede

The Pennsylvania State University

Allan Sly

University of California, Berkeley

Valentino Tosatti

Columbia University

Rachel A. Ward University of Texas, Austin

COMPUTATIONAL AND EVOLUTIONARY **MOLECULAR BIOLOGY**

Edoardo Airoldi

Harvard University

Jesse Bloom

Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

Robin Dowell

University of Colorado, Boulder **David Allan Drummond**

The University of Chicago Carleton L. Kingsford

University of Maryland, College Park

Feilim Mac Gabhann Johns Hopkins University

Michelle Meyer

Boston College

John Novembre University of California. Los Angeles

Sohini Ramachandran

Brown University

Benjamin F. Voight University of Pennsylvania

Jinbo Xu

Toyota Technological Institute

Sheng Zhong University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

NEUROSCIENCE

Jessica A. Cardin

Yale University

Laura Colgin

University of Texas, Austin **Christopher Fang-Yen**

University of Pennsylvania

New York University

Duke University

Benjamin Hayden

Jin Hyung Lee

University of California, Los Angeles

Harvard Medical School

Janghoo Lim

Gaby Maimon

Cristopher M. Niell University of Oregon

Yale University

Xinnan Wang

Robert C. Froemke

Jörg Grandl

Christopher Harvey

Harvard Medical School

University of Rochester

Maria Lehtinen

Roger Levy University of California, San Diego

Yale University

Rockefeller University

Satinder Kaur Singh

Stanford University **Liane Young**

Boston College

OCEAN SCIENCES

Robinson W. Fulweiler

Julia Baum

University of Victoria

Nicolas Cassar Duke University

Boston University John D. Kessler

Texas A&M University Matthew J. Oliver

University of Delaware Matthew O. Schrenk East Carolina University

Frank J. Stewart Georgia Institute of Technology

Angelicque E. White

Oregon State University

PHYSICS

Jason Alicea University of California, Irvine **Gaspar Bakos**

Princeton University **James Battat**

Bryn Mawr College Jacob L. Bean

The University of Chicago

Kirill I. Bolotin Vanderbilt University

Tulika Bose Boston University

Neal K. Dalal

University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign Eric M. Dunham

Nuh Gedik

Stanford University

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Nathan D. Gemelke The Pennsylvania State University

Tobias Golling Yale University

Gregory M. Grason University of Massachusetts, Amherst

William T.M. Irvine The University of Chicago

John Asher Johnson California Institute of Technology

Brice Ménard Johns Hopkins University

Christian D. Ott

Srinivas Raghu Stanford University

Ying Ran Boston College

Paul Romatschke University of Colorado, Boulder

California Institute of Technology

David I. Schuster The University of Chicago

David Shih

Rutgers, State University of New Jersey Alicia M. Soderberg

Harvard University

Sarah L. Veatch

University of Michigan



Too often we fail to recognize and pay tribute to the creative spirit. It is that spirit that creates our jobs... There has to be this pioneer, the individual who has the courage, the ambition to overcome the obstacles that always develop when one tries to do something worthwhile, especially when it is new and different. (Alfred P. Sloan Jr., 1941)

The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation is a philanthropic, not-for-profit grantmaking institution that supports original research and broad-based education in science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and economic performance. For more information visit www.sloan.org.